The Secret To The Secret

Ok, The Secret. Seems kind of hokey. I mean, do they really expect us to believe that if you just picture something in your mind, it’ll just happen. What kind of crap is that?

Are they serious? Well, I think they are. And I even buy into it. They just aren’t doing themselves any favors framing it in such a mystical… well, I’ll say it…. “hippie” way! Every time I applied logic to the concept I got shut down. It just seemed so “faith based”. And I’ve never been that guy.

Well, as I mull it over, I’ve figured it out. Logically. It’s not that “seeing” it “makes” it happen. It’s the opposite. If you can’t see it, you can’t make it happen! No blueprint= no building.

I was listening to Tony Robbins a couple of years ago and he was telling a story about learning to drive a race car. It’s a long story, but essentially, if you start to spin out, you can’t look at the wall, or you’ll hit it for sure! You have to look at WHERE YOU WANT TO GO! That’s the only way it’ll happen.

I saw this quote recently:

“A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment  a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.” – Antoine De Sainte-Exupery

No Bluprint= No Building. If you can’t see the target, you cant hit the target. Going a bit deeper, if you don’t “believe” that the target can even be hit, you’ll never actually be able to a see the plan to hit it.

So, The Secret isn’t so stupid after all. If you can really see it in your head. So vividly that you believe it will happen. Turns out that it will. No mumbo jumbo needed.

There you have it: The Secret for Rednecks.

Life is like NACSAR…. If you start to rub paint and spin out, Don’t look at the wall, look at the track!

Somehow, I think Oprah would not be amused.

Photo Credit – “The Rockstar Energy Drink Scion tC brushes the wall in FD competition” by Content – Communications is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0

Leave a Reply

